Supper icc cricket world cup 2023 format set

icc cricket world cup 2023 format

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion

The countdown is on for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, set to take place in India from October 5th to November 19th. This highly anticipated event promises thrilling cricket action as teams from around the world vie for the coveted title. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about this 14th edition of the 50-over global cricket extravaganza.

How to Follow the Cricket World Cup on the BBC

The BBC will provide extensive coverage of the Cricket World Cup. You can tune in to Test Match Special commentary for every match on BBC Radio 5 Sports Extra and BBC Sounds. Additionally, stay updated with live text commentary on the BBC Sport website, featuring in-play clips and highlights, along with in-depth features and analysis.

Cricket World Cup Schedule and Start Date

The tournament kicks off with a highly anticipated clash between England and New Zealand, a rematch of the dramatic 2019 final at Lord’s, scheduled for Thursday morning at 09:30 BST. Following this, there will be a daily dose of group-stage matches until November 12th. The semi-finals are set for November 15th and 16th, with the grand finale scheduled for November 19th.

Most matches commence at 09:30 BST, with a few exceptions at 06:00 BST. When British Summer Time ends on October 29th, match times will adjust to 08:30 GMT and 05:00 GMT, respectively.

Cricket World Cup 2023 Format

All ten participating teams will engage in a round-robin group stage format, where each team will face each other once. Teams earn two points for a win, one for a tie or a no-result, and zero for a loss. After completing their nine group-stage matches, the top four ranked teams will advance to the semi-finals.

In the semi-finals, the team that secured the first-place finish in the group stage will take on the fourth-placed team, while the second and third-placed teams will battle it out in the other semi-final. The victorious teams from the semis will clash in the final, with the ultimate winner being crowned the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 champion.

Cricket World Cup Competing Teams

One of the biggest surprises this year is the absence of two-time winners, West Indies, who failed to qualify for the group stage for the first time in their history. The participating teams in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

Cricket World Cup Venues and Stadiums

The 48 matches in this year’s World Cup will be spread across ten different venues in India. England’s opening match against New Zealand will take place in Ahmedabad. The semi-finals are slated for Mumbai and Kolkata, with Ahmedabad hosting the final.

Host venues for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 include Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium), Bangalore (M. Chinnaswamy Stadium), Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium), Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium), Dharamshala (HPCA Stadium), Hyderabad (Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium), Kolkata (Eden Gardens), Lucknow (BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium), Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium), and Pune (Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium).

Rules of the Game

The tournament follows a one-day format, with each team facing 50 overs per side, unless the innings are concluded early or the chasing team reaches the target before the allotted overs. The 50 overs are divided into three powerplays: Powerplay 1 (overs 1-10), Powerplay 2 (overs 11-40), and Powerplay 3 (overs 41-50), each with specific fielding restrictions.

Matches are split into two three-and-a-half-hour sessions with a 45-minute break between innings. In the event of a tie after 50 overs, a super over will be played during the semi-finals and final to determine the winner. For matches interrupted by weather conditions, the Duckworth Lewis Stern method will be used, or the match will be moved to a reserve day if available.

Notably, if Pakistan qualifies for the semi-finals, their match will take place in Kolkata, unless they face India, in which case the encounter will be held in Kolkata.

Previous Cricket World Cup Winners

England enters the tournament as the defending champions, having clinched their maiden title four years ago on home soil. Here’s a look back at past Cricket World Cup winners:

  • 1975 – West Indies
  • 1979 – West Indies
  • 1983 – India
  • 1987 – Australia
  • 1992 – Pakistan
  • 1996 – Sri Lanka
  • 1999 – Australia
  • 2003 – Australia
  • 2007 – Australia
  • 2011 – India
  • 2015 – Australia
  • 2019 – England

Prepare for an action-packed 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, where cricket enthusiasts from around the world will witness thrilling matches, unforgettable moments, and a new champion to be crowned at the end of this cricketing spectacle.

I'm Pradeep Chauhan, a cricket enthusiast with a decade of cricket knowledge. Passionate about the sport, I offer top-notch Dream11 and fantasy cricket teams on this platform.

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion