ODI World Cup Winners List 2023: Favorites and Contenders

ODI World Cup Winners List 2023

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion

The long-awaited moment is finally here! The 2023 ODI World Cup is set to kick off on October 5th, bringing cricket enthusiasts around the world an exciting spectacle. The tournament’s first match will feature England and New Zealand at 2:00 PM on October 5th. As we eagerly await the action, let’s take a look at the list of past World Cup winners to get an idea of which teams are the strongest contenders.

List of World Cup Winners

  • 1975: West Indies
  • 1979: West Indies
  • 1983: India
  • 1987: Australia
  • 1992: Pakistan
  • 1996: Sri Lanka
  • 1999: Australia
  • 2003: Australia
  • 2007: Australia
  • 2011: India
  • 2015: Australia
  • 2019: England

Favorites for the 2023 ODI World Cup

2. India

In the 2023 ODI World Cup winner list, India stands at the top as one of the most favorite teams. This team boasts cricket legends like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and young batting sensation Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan, who are in outstanding form.

These players have the ability to win matches single-handedly. Additionally, the Indian team enjoys the home advantage, as all matches will be played in India. It’s worth noting that under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India won the World Cup in 2011, capitalizing on excellent performances and the advantage of home grounds. Therefore, my top pick in the World Cup winner list is the Indian National Cricket Team.

2. Australia

Australia ranks second in the list of potential winners for the 2023 ODI World Cup. It’s the only team that has won the World Cup five times. Australia consistently performs well in World Cup matches, whether it’s in bowling, batting, or fielding – they are a formidable force. Players like Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Steve Smith, and Mitchell Starc, along with Josh Hazlewood, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, and Chris Green, make this team a strong contender. Hence, Australia is my second favorite to win the World Cup.

3. England

The 2023 ODI World Cup winner list places England as a potential third-place team. England boasts notable players like Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, and Sam Curran, who have performed exceptionally well in the Indian Premier League (IPL). This experience will be valuable when playing in Indian conditions. Therefore, my third favorite team to win the World Cup is the England National Cricket Team.

4. Pakistan

In the 2023 ODI World Cup winner list, Pakistan stands as a strong contender in fourth place. This team features several players who can be game-changers, including Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, and Fakhar Zaman. In fast bowling, players like Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Naseem Shah add strength to the team. Since the matches will be played in Asia, Pakistan can leverage its familiarity with conditions similar to those in India. Therefore, Pakistan is my fourth favorite team to win the World Cup.

5. New Zealand

New Zealand is another strong team in the 2023 ODI World Cup winner list. Many of their key players have experience in Indian conditions from their participation in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Players like Kane Williamson, who represents the Hyderabad team, and Glenn Phillips, who plays for Chennai, have demonstrated their skills in Indian conditions. In addition, their bowling attack, featuring Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and Lockie Ferguson, is known for its excellence worldwide. Although New Zealand has yet to win a World Cup, I consider them a contender for the title.

6. South Africa

Despite not having won a World Cup so far, South Africa is my sixth contender in the ODI World Cup winner list for 2023. They have a talented roster, including Quinton de Kock, Adam Markram, David Miller, and Marco Jansen. In the bowling department, they have Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Lungi Ngidi. While South Africa may not be a favorite, they have the potential to surprise everyone.

7. Other Teams

Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and the Netherlands are also part of this tournament, with each having some outstanding players. However, at this point, I do not consider them top contenders in the ODI World Cup 2023, but cricket’s uncertainty could always bring surprises.

As the matches unfold, I’ll provide commentary on the performances of these teams in the World Cup. Cricket is a game of uncertainties, and anything can happen on the field. Let’s enjoy the action-packed tournament and see which team emerges as the 2023 ODI World Cup champion!

I'm Pradeep Chauhan, a cricket enthusiast with a decade of cricket knowledge. Passionate about the sport, I offer top-notch Dream11 and fantasy cricket teams on this platform.

Leave a Comment

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion