Timeline of the Australian Men’s Cricket Team vs. Indian National Cricket Team

Australian Men’s Cricket Team vs. Indian National Cricket Team

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion

The rivalry between the Australian men’s cricket team and the Indian national cricket team is a historic one, spanning over a century. This intense cricketing battle has witnessed numerous ups and downs, marked by significant moments in the world of cricket. Let’s delve into the timeline of this captivating rivalry.

Early years (1877-1947)

The seeds of the rivalry were sown in 1877 when the first Test match between Australia and India was held in Melbourne. Australia emerged victorious, winning by 45 runs. Their encounter continued in 1884-85 when Australia embarked on their first tour of India, eventually winning the three-Test series 2-1.

Post-independence era (1947-present)

After India gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1947, the rivalry between these two cricketing giants intensified. The frequency of matches increased, and competitiveness soared.

In 1959-60, India achieved a significant milestone by defeating Australia for the first time in a Test series, even though the series ended in a draw at 2-2. The highlight was India’s victory in the first Test in Bombay by 128 runs, marking their capability to triumph on Australian soil.

The 1970s and 1980s

The 1970s and 1980s saw Australia enjoying a golden era of cricket, with iconic players like Dennis Lillee, Jeff Thomson, Greg Chappell, and Allan Border. During this period, Australia dominated their clashes with India, including a memorable 5-0 whitewash in 1979-80.

The 1990s and early 2000s

The rivalry in the 1990s and early 2000s saw a more balanced exchange of victories and defeats. Both Australia and India had their moments of glory in Test series against each other during this period.

The rise of India (2004-present)

The mid-2000s witnessed India’s emergence as a cricketing powerhouse, with legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, and Sourav Ganguly leading the charge. India secured significant Test series victories over Australia, most notably a 2-1 series win in Australia in 2004-05.

Recent years (2010-present)

In recent years, the rivalry between Australia and India has intensified even further. Both teams now rank among the world’s best, and their matches are eagerly anticipated by fans worldwide.

In 2013-14, India achieved a historic feat by defeating Australia 4-0 in a Test series in India, marking their biggest-ever Test series win against Australia. However, Australia bounced back in 2018-19, securing a 2-1 Test series win against India on their home turf.

Notable moments in the rivalry

The Australia-India cricket rivalry is replete with memorable moments that have left an indelible mark on the cricketing world:

  • 1959-60: India’s first Test series win against Australia.
  • 1979-80: Australia’s dominant 5-0 whitewash of India.
  • 1986-87: India’s first Test series win in Australia.
  • 2004-05: India’s victorious 2-1 Test series in Australia.
  • 2008-09: India’s inaugural win of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
  • 2013-14: India’s 4-0 Test series triumph in India.
  • 2018-19: Australia’s hard-fought 2-1 Test series win in Australia.


The rivalry between the Australian men’s cricket team and the Indian national cricket team is one of the most intense and enduring in the world of cricket. Spanning over a century, it has witnessed remarkable achievements and historic victories. With both teams continuing to showcase their cricketing prowess, this captivating rivalry is poised to entertain cricket fans for many more years to come.

I'm Pradeep Chauhan, a cricket enthusiast with a decade of cricket knowledge. Passionate about the sport, I offer top-notch Dream11 and fantasy cricket teams on this platform.

Leave a Comment

Whatsapp Get Easy Informstion